Blog post 2

          “To be successful, the first thing to do is fall in love with your work.”
 – Sister Mary Lauretta

            My major is Health Sciences Pre-Physician Assistant and I could not be more excited about it. I love telling people my major; the job opportunities I have, what the job entails, what classes I’m taking, how long I have to go to school for. I just love everything about it and it gets me so eager to begin my career as a Physician Assistant. I knew I wanted to have a career in the medical field since I was about 8 or 9. I used to watch medical shows such as Untold Stories of the E.R. and instead of cringe at the sight of all the medical emergencies as most people would, I became fascinated with it. I knew I wanted to become a person who could help those people on the T.V. Even just typing about it now gets me so thrilled about the job I will have in 6 years. Meeting a Physician Assistant at the University Health Center a few months ago was also an exciting moment that encouraged my already existing passion for my major. He asked me what my major was and when I told him he started going on about how he loves his job and the benefits and excellent job outlook and how many opportunities there are. I kept thinking, I can’t wait to be in his position, wearing scrubs and a lab coat with my name printed on it, and tell people how much I love my job. And while it may not be exactly how it is on T.V., I just can’t wait to start my career and experience everything being a Physician Assistant has to offer.

            My roommate asked me the other day if I would ever switch my major. I didn’t even need to think about it for a second because I cannot see myself doing anything else. For me, my major is a passion that I will not let go of no matter how hard the classes are or how much work it is. Everything that is required, no matter how difficult, to have a career as a Physician Assistant is completely worth it to me. I would definitely say I am in love with my career so far, and I can only hope to be successful in it.  

Leave a Reply

